RSS Feed

The Mornings Are Cooler So There Must be Pumpkin in The Kitchen

Posted on

I was reading something online last night and stumbled upon this amazing recipe for pumpkin whoopee pie’s on the blog eat, live, run. I read through it and realized that I had all of the ingredients except white pepper. I figured one ingredient that was only an 1/8 teaspoon would not matter too much, so I went ahead and made them. Since I started at 7:30 I decided to only make the cookie and save the frosting for today, plus I didn’t have enough powdered sugar. Making the cookies was super easy and for once I didn’t make a huge mess. When I pulled them out of the oven they were so soft and fluffy, I couldn’t wait to eat them. Once they had cooled a bit I dove in and boy were they good. The perfect balance of sweet. I love sweets but I often find that most of the one’s I buy are too sweet for me. These definitely were not. Even J liked them, which is rare as he is not a sweets kinda person.

So this afternoon I finally decided to make the frosting and finish up my whoopee pies. I was hesitant to make a buttercream frosting because I rarely like them. This recipe called for the butter and powdered sugar to be beaten for 10 minutes. Normally I would just ignore that and beat it for maybe 3 minutes, but something got into me and I went for almost 10 minutes. This was the best batch of frosting I have ever made. So glad I decided to beat it for the 10 minutes. Beating frosting for so long lead to a disaster, that is still there. You can see a minor part of the disaster in the picture of the bowl of frosting. There is frosting all over the kitchen. I frosted the cookies, popped one in my mouth and took some up to my neighbors. The whoopee pie was so amazingly perfect and just hit the spot. I am all jazzed up about doing some test baking of the christmas cookies I am planning on making this year now.

I attempted to take some pictures of one, but my camera was not focusing for some reason. J took my camera last night and took some night pictures of our little town. Now the thing doesn’t want to focus. He needs to get his butt home so that I can figure out what he did to it last night.

I realized that I never finished my foodie penpals post and it got posted, so I am going to do that sometime tonight (I hope).

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

Leave a Reply

