RSS Feed

September Foodie Penpals

Posted on

This month I got my box from The Wannabe Foodie. I read some of her posts and I knew I was going to get a good box. I opened the box and was shocked. It looked like my husband had put it together. There were my favorite fruit strips, margarita, spoonable chocolate, giant corn things, chips, seasoned salt, seaweed snaxs (which I have been meaning to try for months now), and the most amazing thing ever a salted caramel chocolate. These are the kinds of treats only my husband would know to buy me.

I have been on the hunt for the perfect sea salt chocolate for about a year. I thought I had found it until I took a bite of this one. It is a salted caramel covered in dark chocolate. One bite and I was in heaven. I cannot believe that I finally found the perfect chocolate. Now I just need to figure out how to buy more.

Spoonable chocolate is the best invention ever. I have a baby spoon that was left at my house years ago. It is the perfect size for eating chocolate. I have been keeping the spoon on the counter so I can easily grab a spoonful. This is so much better than my usual nutella.

I love margaritas, mainly because they have tequila in them, so I was excited to try this mix out. I decided that I wanted a frozen drink, so I made it and threw it into the freezer for a few hours. I don’t usually like mango flavored drinks. The first glass was not very good. The second one, eat the next day, was so good. I might have to try a mango margarita the next time I get one.

These are my all time favorite on the go snack. I have been eating them for as ling as I can remember. When I saw them I was excited since my stash was empty and I hadn’t seen any good deals for them lately.

I never buy seasoned salt even though I really want some. This one looked really good. I planned to make some baked chicken with it. Before putting it on the chicken I tasted it. It was yummy. I was very excited to see what the outcome would be. The chicken tasted so so so good. I can’t wait to make some other dish’s with this. The husband said he wished it wasn’t a seasoned salt and just the bell pepper and herb mix. I might have to check Savory to see if they have something like this that isn’t seasoned salt.

The sea snax brand seaweed has been on sale for months at King Soopers. I keep meaning to buy some, but always space it. I was excited to try them finally and they did not disappoint. The flavor was amazing, but did not totally overwhelm the seaweed flavor, which I really liked. My only complaint is that they were too spicy to eat more than one at a time.

The inka corn was so yummy and fun too eat. I really liked that there were no bad ingredients.

Seratoga Chips! These are not like any other potato chip I have tried before. I am usually not a fan of potato chip, but these definitely were good. 

If you want to joing the foodie penpals check out the link on the Lean Green Bean’s site

Here’s a detailed explanation of the program:

-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treatsThe spending limit is $15The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
– Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & UK residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!

***If you’re in the UK, please contact Carol Anne from This Is Rock Salt at rocksalt@thisisrocksalt.com to get involved!

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

Leave a Reply

