RSS Feed

First Half-Marathon

Posted on

So I finally decided to commit to the Ralston Creek Half-Marathon on February 10th. This means I have 8 weeks to get my runs from 3 miles to 13.1 miles. I’m hoping that is enough time to train and finish in under 2.5 hours. I ran a 10K in May in 1:11 and I spent the first half dealing with my stomach, so I think with some quality training I could easily meet my goal. I am planning to do a half-ironman triathlon this summer and I feel a half-marathon will make me feel more confident come race day.

Training plan

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

2 responses »

  1. Awesome! That first half is always crazy fun, even if it ends up being challenging. I’m looking at your training program and you don’t have any setback weeks. I’d recommend every 3 weeks, dialing it back a little. So on week 3, your Sunday run could go back down to 4 miles. Then on week 6, your Sunday run would drop back down to 6 miles.

    The point is that you don’t want to be always adding mileage — that can lead to fatigue and injury. Every 2-3 weeks you want to have a “down” week so you can rest up and recover from the added mileage that you’re not used to.

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

