RSS Feed

Ralston Creek Half Marathon

Posted on

I ran my first half marathon on Sunday. I was very nervous about this race because I didn’t get to train like I would have liked to. My longest training run was 4.5 miles. No where near 13.1 miles.

IMG_0727

The starting area

The week leading up to the race I was checking the weather every few hours. The forecast was for snow and 35. I have no problem running in 35 degree weather, but I was not interested in running while it was snowing. We were out of town Thrusday through Saturday night which was really hard for me. On Saturday my brother told me that it was snowing at The moffit tunnel so I was pretty sure that I would be running on snow packed trails. Thankfully there was only a dusting of snow.

IMG_0729

Around mile 2

The first part of the course was covered in snow. Thankfully there was very little ice for this clutz to worry about.

IMG_0731

6 miles in and I see a storm over the mountains

I knew that at mile 7 the switch backs started, so when I got to mile 6 I started getting nervous. My knee was doing good, but up hills are when it acts up.

IMG_0732

Looking toward the switch backs

IMG_0734

About half way up the hill looking out toward Denver

The switch backs went on forever, but my knee was strong the entire way up. About half way up I was really happy that I got to see the Dnever skyline.

IMG_0735

It’s hard to see but it was snowing when I got to mile 9

The storm that I saw earlier in the race had caught up to me around mile 9 and it started snowing, but thankfully only lasted about 10 minutes.

IMG_0736

So close

IMG_0737

I can do this

By this point my legs were like lead. I wanted to walk the rest of the way, but my legs felt better when I was running. The last part of the race is on a road that felt like the longest hill of my life. I actually had to stop and walk with the finish line in sight because my lungs were shot. Being that I decided to start in the second wave I was one of the last people to finish. It was really nice to still have people cheering at the finish line. I got a picture taken of me trying to jump, grabbed a coke and burrito and headed to my truck. I did some minor stratching and headed back to Boulder.

IMG_0738

I FINISHED

For a few years I have been dreaming of doing long distance races, but I was afraid that I wouldn’t like them as much as I wanted to. After this race I have realized that I really do prefer longer races. Even though I wasn’t able to run the whole race I had a lot of fun running. I will definately be doing more half marathons.

Splits

mi Pace (min/mi) Elevation (ft)
1 9:51 -16
2 13:37 47
3 14:14 57
4 12:56 54
5 12:23 49
6 14:58 107
7 11:05 5
8 14:16 103
9 10:32 -187
10 11:51 -96
11 13:59 -52
12 12:58 -58
13 13:19 1
14 13:07 6

Totak time: 2:47:16

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

Leave a Reply

