RSS Feed

Dash N Dine 5K

Posted on

What the Boulder Reservoir will look like tomorrow

One of my goals for this year is to run a 25:00 5K. Last night I decided to sign up for Dash-N-Dine #3 with the hope that I could run it in 30:00.

My goal today was to run a 30:00 5K. All day I ate good and then I got off work and had too much time before the start of the Dash-N-Dine and got a snack that killed my stomach. I got to the Boulder Reservoir 45 minutes early, grabbed my number, and went on a short warm up run. I felt great on my warm up run and I felt like I was sure to get my 30:00 5k.

I was on my way to line up for the start when I decided that I didn’t want to listen to music. So I headed back to the truck to get rid of my headphones. I stupidly decided to grab my rain coat because I was afraid I would be cold with the wind. Mistake number 2. When the race started my lungs felt like they were going to die, but slowly got better. About the time they got better I started getting too hot and light headed. After the first mile I physically felt amazing, but really light headed. I stopped and walked for a bit. When I started feeling better I picked up the pace and that’s when my stomach started bothering me. I’m not sure what it is with my stomach, but on shorter races I often have a lot of problems with it.

The rest of the race consisted of me running as far as I could before my stomach got too bad and I would have to walk. After about 2.5 miles my stomach started feeling better and I was able to finish the race strong in 33:40. I grabbed some Mad Greens and gave eating an attempt, but my stomach was having none of that.

I was amazed with how good my first mile felt, ran a 9:26. I think if I can figure out my stomach problem I will be able to start really improving my running speed.

And with that we will be saying good morning to snow. Hopefully for the last time.

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

Leave a Reply

