RSS Feed

July Training Goals

Posted on

20130623-125734.jpg

I have been having a hard time sticking to any training plan, so I am going to try something new. Instead of having a training plan I am going to have weekly and monthly mileage goals. Since I am doing a half Ironman distance triathlon in September I need to really start building up my running base as it is my weak area. I am going to run 13 miles a week for a total of 60 miles for the month. The bike is my strongest of the three sports. Riding 56 miles does not worry me. What worries me is having to run 13.1 miles after riding 56 miles. I am going to try to ride 50 miles a week and get in a 100 mile ride, probably toward the end of the month, for a total of 330 miles for the month. Swimming is one of my favorite sports. I love spending time in the water pushing my body to new distances. For the month of July I am going to aim for 5000 meters a week and a total of 13 miles, 21,250 meters, of swimming. I am going to put a piece of paper on my fridge to keep track of my mileage throughout the month. Hopefully this will help me stay on track with building a solid racing base.

I have one race this month, the Steamboat Lake Triathlon. Last year I got my butt kicked by the bike course. The bike course is a lot of big rolling hills, even though the course profile only shows 2 hills. I would like to kick butt in the race this year. The plan is to spend a lot of time on hwy 36, which has some difficult rolling hills heading south. I hate the ride every time I do it, but always go back for more.

About cm3610

Spending my days dreaming big and attaining those dreams. My current dream is to make it to the triathlon world championship.

Leave a Reply

